Christian Taylor in the triple jump final at the IAAF World Championships Beijing 2015 (Getty images)

Triple Jump

How it works

Competitors sprint along a runway before taking off from a wooden board. The take-off foot absorbs the first landing, the hop. The next phase, the step, is finished on the opposite foot and then followed by a jump into a sandpit. The distance travelled, from the edge of the board to the closest indentation in the sand to it, is then measured.

A foul is committed – and the jump is not measured – if an athlete steps beyond the board.

Most championship competitions involve six jumps per competitor, although usually a number of them, those with the shorter marks, are often eliminated after three jumps.  If competitors are tied, the athlete with the next best distance is declared the winner.


At the inaugural modern Olympic Games in 1896, the event consisted of two hops and a jump but the format of a hop, a skip, a jump – hence its alternative name which was still in common usage until recently – was standardised in 1908.

Did you know

When Great Britain’s Jonathan Edwards set the current world record of 18.29m to win at the 1995 IAAF World Championships, he jumped a distance in excess of the width of a football penalty box.

Gold standard

Soviet jumper Viktor Saneyev from Georgia won three consecutive Olympic titles from 1968 to 1976. The only men to win more than once at the IAAF World Championships is Jonathan Edwards, who was victorious in 1995 and 2001, and Christian Taylor, who won in 2011 and 2015.

The best ever women's competition came at the 2008 Olympic Games when Cameroon's Francoise Mbango successfully defended her title from four years before with 15.39m, the second best distance ever, and six women jumped beyond 15 metres.


Jonathan Edwards

The Briton with the wonderfully poised technique set the current world record of 18.29m when winning the first of his two world titles in 1995; the second came in 2001. He also took the 2000 Olympic gold medal and won at the 1998 European Championships and 2002 Commonwealth Games.

Caterine Ibarguen

The Colombian spent her early years in the sport focusing on the heptathlon, high jump and long jump. It was only in her mid-20s that she decided to switch to triple jumping full time and it soon paid off. She picked up world bronze in 2011, Olympic silver in 2012 and then put together a string of 34 consecutive victories between 2012 and 2016, winning two world titles during that time. She also won the Olympic title in 2016 and set a South American record of 15.31m in 2014.